The Birmingham to Worcester canal was opened in 1815 with the port of Lowesmoor originally intended as the principal canal wharf of Worcester. Around the wharf coal yards,storehouses , mills and granaries were constructed. The port handled large shipments from the Black Country of goods and raw materials, especially coal. However, within a few decades rail was taking over as the principal means of transport and a new railway from Worcester to Hereford was built around 1860. A bridge was designed to carry the track across both the canal and the narrow roadway of Westbury St. Pevsner (1968) attributes the design of the bridge to Charles Liddell. This unique piece of architecture is believed to be the result of having to cross two thoroughfares of differing widths. The large Oculus (hole) above the smaller arch not only reduced the weight of the bridge but also ensured the arch forces had load paths in the right places.
|exposure mode||full manual|